top of page

Taking Care of ME!

05/15/20

So.. I am currently in the process of writing another blog... And actually... At this very moment I was reading my Business of Baking book... But something I read made me think of a blog topic I have been wanting to write about... So here we are.

How do I take care of me?

How do I eat well? When I am surrounded my baked goods all day, everyday...

How do I have time to workout?

Those are the biggest questions I get.

And I haven't been the best with that stuff since Keeks Treats has picked up.

On the days I have a lot of baking to do... I tend to put off my reading and writing (both of which I enjoy).

I generally don't eat much.. Simply because I view it as a waste of my baking time.

And I for sure am not as active in the gym... Again, it is a time thing... As well as an energy thing.

I'm exhausted after 6 to 8 (sometimes more) hours of non-stop baking.

5/16/20

Okay... Let's continue...

As of now.. I have painted this negative picture for my baking business. It just sounds like I work all the time. And don't take time for myself...

And that can be true on some days... But I am working on putting things in place to change this.

1. I have changed my mindset when I have really big baking days. Like 30 dozen cookies for me to bake, wrap, and label each individual cookie, ALL BY MYSELF! Instead of being intimidated by the giant task ahead of me... I am grateful that I get to bake cookies for a living. I am so happy that this is my life! And that people actually like my treats! And then I just take it one batch at a time.

2. Protein shakes and protein bars have become my best friends. I know real food (Ex: turkey, cucumbers, and avocado) would be way better and satiating... But on my busy days with baking... Shakes and bars are better than nothing... Or just snacking on cookies (although sometimes, I do "sample" the cookies. LOL).

3. I keep a water bottle with a straw near by!!! And anytime I see it... I try to guzzle down some water. Gotta stay hydrated, guys!!! 💦💦

4. I listen to audio books or podcasts. If I am unable to make time to sit down and read an actual paper book... Then I will definitely make sure I listen to something that day... Well more that day... I listen to books and podcasts just about everyday. I have come to really enjoy learning/reading... So I want to make sure I make time to do that. If I go too many days without doing so... I tend to feel like I am failing myself. Yay for Audible and Podcasts!!!

6/5/20

ℍ𝕒𝕡𝕡𝕪 𝔽𝕣𝕚𝕕𝕒𝕪!

Almost a month later... I'm coming back to my blog. I have not been consistent with my blogging... Definitely not my YouTube... Not even really my Instagram... The only one I'm semi-consistent with is the Keeks Treats IG.

It kind of upsets me that I haven't been on top of these things... I do genuinely enjoy writing my blogs... Probably more than people enjoy reading them. LOL. And I know when I was putting out YouTube videos I was getting good feedback... But if you know me... You know that I have been busy working on myself and building/growing Keeks Treats!

That sounds like an excuse... But I will say it is pretty valid! & if you disagree... Then sorry (not sorry).

This post is about me taking care of ME!!! & I am such a people pleaser.

6/8/20

Okay... So let's continue... I am such a people pleaser... And to be completely honest... I never really knew what I wanted or needed... I was so focused on making sure the people around me were happy. Which isn't a bad thing... Until someone asks me what I want in life... And I don't have an answer...

*sigh* Don't get me wrong... I've had my selfish moments... When I was prepping for my first few shows... It was all about me... And I am human... So I can be selfish at times... But all in all... I will definitely sacrifice

7/7/20

Okay... So I have clearly been taking care of ME!

I took a break from blogging... And I'm barely on social media (really just Keeks Treats).

I have been working on being present in the moment.

Living my life, and not looking at everyone else's.. Envying them, when I have so much amazingness right in front of me!!!

I honestly should probably spend even less time on social media. Being more mindful of my thoughts and feelings... I have found that I compare myself to others so much! Whether it be what they are doing... How they look... How many followers they have... Etc. A whole lot of silliness!!!

Comparing myself to others is terrible. It just sets me up for failure. I will never be them! And you know what... I shouldn't want to! I AM ME!!!! And I'm the only me there will ever be!

I know all this sounds like a silly rant... But I guess I needed to get it out.

The time I have taken away from writing has allowed me to do a lot of thinking. Some good and some bad... The bad is mainly me thinking bad thoughts about myself. And talking to friends and family, listening to books and podcasts... I'm not the only one. So many people are so hard on themselves. Hence the saying, "You are your own worst critic."

But you know what... I don't want that for myself.

I want to be my number one fan!!!

I know I've written about this before... But I will keep on writing until I get it into my head!!!

How the hell am I supposed to live my best life, accomplish all that I want... And truly be happy... If I am constantly saying/thinking negative things?!

I won't be able to... That's how!!!

So many people say that they have always known me to be this happy & confident person...

And so many of those people had no idea all the insecurities that were hiding behind my smile.

This is NOT a pity party at all!!!

I smile because I love to smile. And I am a happy person!!! But I do have a lot of insecurities for sure.

But don't we all...? I think it is what you choose to do with those insecurities that makes you who you are...

I normally use them to motivate me to become better!!! But lately, to be completely honest, I have been having a really hard time doing that.

I don't know if it is because I'm getting burnt out. I don't know if I am putting too much on my plate. But what I do know is... I have to get back to doing that.

I am not perfect by any means. And I never will be. And that's okay!!!

*sigh* I'm not sure if this blog is really about taking care of me... At least it's not really what I had planned when I started it... But hey!!! Writing/blogging... And getting my true thoughts/feelings out... That is taking care of me!! It is the best way I can put it all out there & really start to move forward.

So... I have no idea what the beginning of this blog says... I only know what I have written today. But oh well! That's my favorite part of how I do my blogs. They are REAL. They are me.

Okay... I am going to end this very drawn out blog today!

How am I going to take care of myself going forward?

1. I am going to write more. No taking so much time off because I choose to not make time for it. I need to make the time because I know it helps me work through things.

2. I have started my "diet." I know I will feel better if I'm eating better and more consistent.

3. Drink more water. I might buy a new gallon jug to help me drink more. It's easier to track one big jug versus a bunch of little bottles. LOL.

4. I have already started this... I am training more intuitively. I do what I feel like (still pushing myself, though). I work around pain, instead of working through it. No need to make injuries worse.

5. I am adding in cardio that way I can do more hikes... And not feel winded going up stairs. LOL.

6. I am working on getting more sleep. I haven't been getting up at 4 or 4:30 am... I have been sleeping in until 5:30 or 6 am. Sometimes even until 7 am!!!

7. I have been reading a little each day. Even if it's only one or two pages. It is something.

8. I have been baking a ton. That always brings me joy! And I can share that joy!

9. Listening to music and DANCING! I forgot how much I love to dance!

10. Reaching out to friends!

I know there is more! But that a good list!

Oh! Before I go... Another thing I want to start doing... It can be a part of my writing... I want to start a gratitude journal. I think it will be very beneficial for me to think about, and write down, all the good in my life... & be thankful for it all.

Okay.. Bye!!! ♡

BTW... If you didn't notice... My pictures don't really go with what I wrote. They are just what I was up to around the dates in this blog.

Oh and... I think I'm going to end each blog with a quote! Yessss! I love it. LOL.

bottom of page