top of page

Random Writing: Homesick

I am sitting here at work. All I can think about is my family. I really do miss them so much. Simply typing these words brings tears to my eyes. But I have to hold them back. 1. Crying isn’t going to make me miss them less, or magically make them appear in my office. 2. I don’t feel like having one of those days… This brings me to 3. I AM IN CONTROL!

This past year I have started so many new habits, and one of those habits is reading. Before meeting Tony, the last book I read was for school. You wouldn’t catch me reading just for the heck of it. But now I really enjoy it. When I finish a book, I feel so accomplished.

On top of feeling accomplished, I have also learned quite a bit. One of the biggest lessons this far has been how I think, feel, and go through my day to day life.

At the moment I am reading Radical Acceptance by Tara Brach. It is probably one of the most influential books I’ve read. It makes you think in a different way. Thanks to this book, I am able to know that I miss my family, and be okay with it.

A few days ago I had a breakdown and cried my eyes out because I missed my family. And don’t get me wrong, crying is good sometimes… I definitely felt relieved afterwards. But now, instead of crying I just text my family. I am also going to let my homesickness motivate me to work harder to grow my business.

I am choosing to turn these somewhat sad feelings into something good. I will be growing my business, helping people, making money, and will then be able to plan a trip to go see my family.

This blog was not supposed to be about me being homesick… It all just came out. Sorry, not sorry ;)

I am writing this blog because I wanted to talk about how you have the control of your life.

So many people, including myself, seem to forget this.

If you do not like something, then change it. And if you cannot change it, then change your attitude towards it. Life is too short to be unhappy all the time.

I know that this can sound it is easier said than done… But it is possible. It just takes practice, like everything else in life.

I would definitely recommend reading Radical Acceptance. I just don’t think I can explain how great it is.

bottom of page