top of page

14.5 Weeks Out


It is Wednesday, June 27, 2018.

Man time sure does fly! It is already going to be July! My little sister Baylie turns 15 on the 1st! OMG!

Everyone is growing up so fast! Even me! I'm closer to 30 than 20 now. Haha!

But I have actually really enjoyed growing up. Becoming a better me! & buffer! & stronger!

LOL. Don't mind my silly-ness today. :)

Anyways... I didn't talk much about my contest prep in my last blog. So I will do so this time.

This morning I was 130. I have lost an average of 1 pound per week.

Coach was very happy with my check-in this week.

I hit a new low. 129 the morning of my refeed/cheat meal.

And for me to already be at 130 at the beginning of the week! Woo! Excited to see where I am this Saturday morning. :)

I don't feel tat hungry. So that's super nice! And quite different for me. Ha. I'm literally always hungry.

I probably adjusted to eating only 5 meals a day. I know what to expect.

Plus... I think I've mentioned this before... But I planned my meals out so I only have one big gap. So that means I have to be hungry only once in the day. And the rest of my meals are pretty close together.

Let's talk PREP macros.

Keep in mind... Everyone's macros are different. And mine are going to be WAAYYY different than yours. Probably a lot lower. SO DO NOT COPY THEM! I am a small lady that is getting ready for a bodybuilding show. Last year I was around 8-9% bodyfat... And I plan on being leaner this year. So once again.. DON'T COPY MY DIET! I don't see why you would want to anyways. I just wanted to make sure you guys are safe/healthy!

MACROS:

LOW: p100/c50/F21 (rest days)

MED: p105/c102.5/f21 (am training)

MED: p105/c102.5/f21 (pm training)

HIGH: p100/c430/f0 (Saturday)*CHEAT MEAL REPLACE LAST MEAL

I spread my macros out evenly between the 5 meals I get.

Fats are in 3 meals.

And on my training days I have an intra-workout shake (I posted what that consists of on my IG).

My high day.. I normally break the macros up into 3 BIG meals.

--> I do this because Tony and I normally go on our date around 530pm. So in order for me to get in all my macros before then... It is easier for me to do 3 meals.

Now cardio... OH CARDIO!

Pretty much all the contest preps I've done I have finished with 2 hours of cardio 7 days a week.

I sure hope I don't have to do that this time... But if I do... It's okay. My body needs to work hard to get lean.

And I will do what it takes to bring my best to the stage!!!

At the moment my cardio is low!

5 days a week I do 22 mins of fasted HIIT. I ride my spin bike. 1 min standing, 1 min sitting.

4 days a week I do 12 mins of post workout HIIT. I actually really enjoy my post workout HIIT!

I have been doing circuits! My favorite one so far...

-Sled push and pull

-Up & over bosu ball (side shuffle)

-Jump rope

-Battle rope (this sh*t is so hard!)

12 mins, 3 rounds, EMOM

Hmmm... What else is going on so far in prep?

Nothing really.

I'm just training hard. Dotting my I's and crossing my T's. (I think that's the saying. Hahaha.)

I am progressing week to week with my lifts. Which is nice!!! & always my goal!

Obviously when I am a couple weeks out I don't push it too hard just because I don't want to get hurt.

But I don't think that you should use your diet as an excuse to be weak. Or train light or half-assed.

PUSH HARD!

Come into the gym with a goal to be better than yesterday.

Shoot! That is how you should come into every day!

Okay! I have to calm myself down. I'm getting all amped up while I type. LOL.

Speaking of calming down...

I have been working on my parasympathetic recovery.

I try to finish each workout with some sort of cool down. Most of the time I just lay in a 90/90 position and focus on breathing through my diaphragm. If I don't have time to do that... Then on my drive home I turn the radio down and focus on my breath while I drive. I'm just trying to bring my heart rate back down.

I have also been making sure to warm-up really good!

Lots of new dynamic movements that I have learned from Kelley Henry and Lauren Polivka.

I making sure to do "stretches" through a movement.

& making sure that I am working on stability in my shoulders. Bracing in my core. And keeping my hips feeling good. SO MUCH TO WORK ON! But it will all be worth it!!!!

Definitely go check out the two ladies I mentioned/linked above.

If you are in the Portland area... Kelley is local! She's great!!!

OOOO! POSING!!!

I know a lot of my reading don't compete in figure competitions like I do... But I do want to touch on posing real quick...

I practice posing pretty much all the time. Contest prep.. Off-season.. Morning, night, at the gym, at home.

I love posing. Especially when I am lean!

Especially when I am prepping for a show... I make sure to pose a lot!

I do this to practice. Practice my quarter turns. Practice my individual routine. Practice "flexing."

Plus, as you lean out, your body changes (obviously). So, if you compete... Make sure you are finding the poses that work for/look good on you.

&& have you ever heard of the saying "Practice makes perfect." Well it does!

And the more you practice... The more your body will know what to do. Just in case you get nervous on stage & forget what to do... Your body will magically know what to do. Ha. (this happened to me at my pro debut)

So even though I was talking about posing... You can take this as a reminder to practice your sport or talent, skill, habit, or anything you have to do or you want to be good at.

I think this is a wrap on my prep update... For now :)

bottom of page