top of page

The Week of My Meet


Sunday, this was the first day that I had to drink three gallons of water. I woke up nice and early so I can get started. I was able to finish a gallon by 8:30am. Finished the second gallon by 2pm. So I had the rest of the day to finish the third gallon. But by that time I did not want anything to do with water. Bleh!

Then, out of nowhere I got a super bad headache. So I decided to take a nap. I would wake up to drink and eat, but just wanted to sleep. I didn’t really think anything of it. My headache lasted all day. I even went on a walk with Tony to see if some fresh air and sunshine would help. Tony and I started to think it was all the water, but by that time I had already finished the three gallons. So oh well…

Monday: day two with the marvelous three gallons. I woke up with a headache. Never fun having a headache. But I went on with my day. Went to work, and then went to the gym to hit some light squats and deadlifts. I finished the first two gallons by like 1pm. I was very happy. I only had one left to go. After the gym I went home to eat and rest before going back to work. When I got home I started to feel very dizzy, so I took a nap. Woke up from my nap feeling even worse, very dizzy and now nauseous (sad face). I sucked it up and went to work. That did not last very long though. I got to work and felt beyond awful. I felt like I was either going to pass out or through up. My client could tell that I wasn’t feeling well, not good! So I contacted all of my clients and got them rescheduled so I can go back home and collect myself.

Got home and contacted my coach while Tony did some research on over hydration. It turns out that is exactly what was wrong with me. I had flushed my system of all the nutrients and electrolytes. I just relaxed on the couch and continued to sip on my water. Tony told me to stop drinking it, but I wanted to follow the program.

Tuesday: only two and a half gallons of water, now. I’ve got to admit, I was afraid to drink water now. I had felt so awful the day before… But I knew that I had to get it done. I just poured the water into a shaker cup and I made sure to drink it a little slower.

Wednesday, the big day is getting closer and closer. I only had to drink two gallons this day. And I was finally feeling good! I was super excited for the weekend!!!

Thursday… Cutting carbs. NEVER FUN! Zero carbs and a gallon and a half of water. I was super hungry! Haha. Oh well… I made it through the day.

Friday, I woke up at 124 this morning. I needed to maintain this weight all day in order to make weigh Saturday morning. Before eating I would weigh myself to make sure I was 123-124. I also stopped drinking water at noon. On top of that I had three layers of clothes on, two blankets, and a heating pad. I was trying to get my sweat on! Then I took a hot bath with Epson salts. Not the most fun day, but I went to bed at 123. Yay!

Saturday morning I woke up at 121. Ugh! I was hoping to wake up at 119. Oh and the reason I was trying to be under 123 is because the gym scale was heavier than my home scale. I took another hot bath with Epson salts. When I got out of that bath I was still at 121. But it was time to go to weigh ins. Tony was very supportive and positive. He told me I would be fine.

I made sure to get to Kabuki early. I want to weigh in as early as possible and get some water and food in me! AND THE MOMENT OF TRUTH! Did I make weight?! YES!!! 122.8lbs! Woohoo! I was very happy! Happy I made weight, and happy I could drink my Pedialyte!

Saturday was a very relaxing day, after weigh ins of course HA! Once I go home I just sipped on my Pedialyte and BCAAs; and then started eating. Food was so yummy! But then again, when is food not yummy? I had fun with my meals, but still followed my macros. Yes I was getting ready for a power lifting meet, but I am still a figure competitor; so I didn’t want to eat bad/unhealthy. Plus, I was really focused on brining my best performance to my meet. I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to do that if I fueled my body with unhealthy foods.

Along with my reefed, Tony also had my do a small workout in the middle of the day. I did ten minutes on the bike and then a ten minute circuit. He told me I was doing this to make sure that my food went to my muscles.

Then, later in the afternoon my best friend came over! I was so happy to see her! We caught up with each other, walked to Target, and then went out for sushi! So yummy and fun! Finished the night watching TV with Ashley and Tony.

THE BIG DAY HAS ARRIVED! Sunday! I woke up kind of early so I had time to pack up all my gear, food, and fluids. I also wanted to make some pancakes.

The nerves started to kick in as we left the house. I turned on my music and just tried to relax and think of this day as another day in the gym. As I walked into the gym, I was just so excited and ready to lift!

After setting my rack height for squats, I started to warm up for squats. I was feeling so good! Weights were moving very well and felt light. I was happy about that because squats were the one lift that did not go good during training. AND I SMASHED ALL THREE OF MY SQUATS! I finished with 265lbs!

Then I got to rest a little before bench. Bench is my favorite lift! And it was the lift that progressed the most during training… So I was a little excited! But then I started to warm up… They weights just did not feel right (sad face). My opener moved well. I am so glad Tony told me to pick easy openers. Unfortunately, my opener was all I could do. My bench just was not strong enough on that day. And oh man, I was so upset! Big thanks to my bestie, Ashley Williams, for comforting me!

After bench, I just relaxed and ate. Deadlifts were last, but certainly not least! I was pumped to lift the weight, especially after my missed benches. It was also very nice to get such nice compliments from some of the other lifters!

My first deadlift was in the 280s, it went up easy. Second deadlift was 303, again easy, and a PR! Third attempt coming up! Tony was in my ear… Telling me to be aggressive and be patient (lol). I walked up to the platform. I hear the announcer say that I was lifting 315. AND I DID IT!!!

The meet was over. I came home with a first place metal around my neck! The funny thing is… All I could think about was getting back to the gym to get back to work! I love competing, whether it is bodybuilding or power lifting. I love working towards something, and improving myself! Even though the water loading and cut process didn’t go the best for me, I would totally do it all over! My first meet was a success! I had a blast and performed very well! I know I am capable of more, and will continue to work hard! I will be doing more meets (maybe one in August)!

THANK YOU FOR ALL THE LOVE AND SUPPORT!!!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page